The Clay House and Back

23 03 2014
Cups and Saucers

Cups and Saucers

It’s been an interesting 11 months here in Australia.  Sorry to not give many updates but we have all been CRAZY busy doing classes, tech work, website maintenance and gallery exhibitions.  So I’ma give the instagram of updates!

We have a dentist next door.

We have a dentist next door.

So we’ve been running and operating The Clay House in North Fremantle, Western Australia.

It’s good, really good.  We teach classes for kids, adults and professionals.  Believe it or not it’s been a great place to grow with my work.

1393786_10151968878292482_1534126216_nI’ve had a chance to make TONS of work.  I don’t have anything but electrical kilns at my disposal right now, so all my work is cone 10 oxidation.  It’s been a challenge but it has been great for me to get outside of my comfort zone and work on a more detailed surface.

They’ve come a long way.  The time to work in oxidation again is nice as well, because the only kiln I have back home right now is an electric!

534357_10151948737942482_1764559942_n

New Mugs

New Mugs

As well as working on my own body of work here, I have done a full year of teaching in every different format you could imagine.  I’ve had an adult throwing class consistently since I’ve been here.  Great groups of people that have brought in wonderful discussions about ceramics and given me more of an insight into what my market is looking for.

I had to make this.

I had to make this.

I’ve had the opportunity to teach HEAPS of kids classes.  Everything from hand-building mugs and little bowls to make families of robots, animals and houses!

It was some well deserved fun that I needed doing that.

I have also taken a position with the local college teaching a class on hand-built tableware.  This has by far been one of the cooler events to happen.  I’ve gotten to work with and help educate people from all different walks of life and get to see how they all approach making in clay.

As far as my personal work goes and where it’s going I have been working on these striped designs.  There’s a lot to it in my head that I’m not ready to write about, but you will see soon in my work some of these sketches.  I’m finding myself fascinated with putting imagery on my work right now.

As per usual, with most places I go, I built a pizza oven.  This one was fantastic.  I had a whole team of kids to help mix the clay and stack the dome.  I was lucky to have Rich Hill around.  He and the family/friends helped source all the material and helped lay the foundation.  Complete rock stars.  Yes, that oven is made completely out of clay and yes, it is decorated with shells and all other sorts of ocean finds!

Speaking of pizza ovens, there’s been a fair bit of time to have some fun cooking.  Tons of pumpkin, feta and focaccia!

So as of Apr. 30, 2014 I’ll be back in the US.  I’m talking to professors at different programs and looking at applying for graduate programs in ceramics for 2015.  I think I’m going to spend some time for the next few months putting together solid applications and working with my studio equipment.  New pics of the work with sketches on it to come!

Cake Plates

Cake Plates

New Plates.

New Plates.

Pizza Oven, Hamelin Bay

Pizza Oven, Hamelin Bay

Excellent Focaccia

Excellent Focaccia

Early Morning Coffee in the Studio

Early Morning Coffee in the Studio

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

