Sometimes things just click

5 04 2011

Tenmoku Bottle Set

So I’m finding that today is the first post I’ve actually made this year.  I’m taking a pretty heavy load this semester because it’s the last of what I need to graduate.  It’s been pretty hectic and I guess I just didn’t have anything to say besides, “working hard, getting back to it. . ”

Xian and Beijing were awesome if anyone was wondering.  Great food, good people, acquired some nice goods.  I’ll have the foodreel up soon, to many people’s delight.  So I’ve been making these bottle sets.  I just put my BFA show up with the group and it’s comprised of trays that have a bottle calipered to the center and two accompanying cups.  I love em’, but they have a ways to go.  I need to take a break though and crank out some sale pots.  It will be a nice break for my hands to make casseroles, bowls, etc.

Robin Hopper

Kisses for Slide Edits

I’m working with NCECA (National Council on the Education of the Ceramic Arts) as an AV technician and it’s one of the best jobs I’ve ever had.  Great people and great times.  I made some great friends and got to meet some of my heroes and idols.  Robin Hopper played his trombone mouthpiece for us and had a few beers.  We had a rule this year, if  we have to make any edits to your presentation because you weren’t prepared. . .   you had to put on our flamingo hat and take pictures!  Then we shared our candy, but that’s besides the point.  I’ve been asked to return next year, and I am more than excited to be part of the group again in Seattle.  There are many more flamingo pics, but I think I will email those to Chris or Lee and let them do what they please, hee hee.  Well Ceej and I flew back up to Utah on Sunday and drove to Logan with Gail Nichols and her husband Dave.  Great folks, and I look forward to spending the next few weeks hanging out and talking with them.  Set the show up and now I’m just going to breeze in the studio for a while.

Guy and his student standing like flamingos

The best fish and chips I have ever had

Side note:  These were the best fish and chips I have ever had.  We stopped during a gallery stroll for a beer and some food, and this was their special, with mint peas!!

So anywho, I’m graduating and I’ve got my application/resume in at a few places.  I’ve been denied by two, but there’s 3 still awaiting.  For now I’m going to have another cup of coffee and ride my bike up the hill.  Now that’s what I call a good morning!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

