Food and Food and Food

6 10 2010

Painting by: Tim Rogerson http://www.timrogerson.com

Much of my work is inspired by food.  Much of my work is also inspired by the line structures and altered perceptions of cartoons.  For that reason, I tend to link Tim Rogerson’s work to some of the way I think of myself and some of the direction I want a lot of my work to be going.

Grilled Chicken Wings (Plate by: Robin DuPont)

The way that food relates to my work is much more important though.  I always think about the functionality of my work in regards to food, and beyond that food has a deeper purpose.  Personally, food plays a large part in what I do and think about everyday.  I love cooking and therefore want my work to reflect that as well.  I want my work to inspire a chef and vice versa. Here in China they cook everything with oil.  Lots and lots and lots of oil.  We actually had to ask the our lovely chef ladies to use less oil.  I started running again 2 days ago because I’m getting fat. . .  ter.  I was a very very heavy kid with awful eating habits.  After losing quite a bit of that weight and gaining a great start on fixing many of the habits, I’ve been comfortable with my body.  But now that I’m eating food that has a ton of oil on it (and in mass quantities because it’s delicious) I’ve had to up the exercise level.  They always say don’t trust a skinny chef, but this chef wants to live past 40. I guess the next issue with my work in this sense is how to incorporate my ideals of health and fitness with my ingrained and beloved ideals of plentiful food, fun, and friends.  Really, how do you make a pot say, “I’m here to party!!!  But please hold the oil on those noodles. . .”

First soda firing

In other news, we fired off our first soda kiln yesterday.  I’ll try and upload a few images of how everything came out when we unload.  All I put in was a few test body bowls with some slips and glazes on them.  Figuring out these new clays is a bit of a challenge with such big kilns.

The group and the brush maker Forming bristles

Fast fingers

And. . .   we got a visit from the brush maker.  He brought out that entire stock of brushes you see on the table.  That’s not even close to a dent of what’s in his shop.  Most of the shops here in town that you go into and see brushes, got them from him.  He is a 4th generation brush maker and has been making his brushes by hand for 50 years!!  There are 3 people that work in his shop:  Him, his daughter, and his grand-daughter.  That’s what I call a family owned business.  They came and demonstrated making chicken head brushes (when you wet and slap them, they look like a chicken’s head) and made brushes available for us to buy.  In these photos we have the group and a spread of brushes, the brush maker shaping and mixing goat hairs, and then him forming the bottom to go into a bamboo handle.

Yes. He is doing exactly what you think he is.

Splitting the bamboo to hold the brush head

I tried making brushes a few times.  It’s not easy.  We were all impressed, and yes, the brush maker made quite a bit of money off of us.  Maybe some of you will be getting brushes as gifts?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

